Not Satan…stupidity!

Posted: August 5, 2007 in Random

I realize that there are basically two approaches people take when dumb stuff happens. One says, “It was the guy with the pointy ears and a pitchfork,” and the other says, “man that was stupid, I can’t believe I….” I think it may have been a bit of both today at OLC. For one, somehow this morning we managed to trip the fire alarm in addition to having no A/C in the adult theater. Then nobody could figure out how to turn the alarm off and the A/C didn’t get fixed until after all of our services were over?! I was feeling a little sorry for myself on the way home because I get fired up with anything or anyone that takes momentum away from what God is doing. I was feeling really bad because I couldn’t solve any of the problems and that’s my job!

Then I read a blog that I check up on regularly and I heard about 2400 people coming to church in a sauna. I also remembered we had 563 people this morning and are over 100% bigger (more then doubled) then we were a year ago. It’s easy to feel like you are being attacked and some of you may be, but if you look for a pitchfork behind every bush you will see it. Instead I propose we look and see the hedges of protection. For me and Oak Leaf its the manager of the theater sending someone at 6:30 AM to try and help, people fanning themselves and coming anyway, growing despite heat and it being summer, and our three week old 3rd service growing from 93 to 113. That’s reason to smile a little bit.

Comments
  1. Suzan says:

    Anthony, someone I work with told me that her daughter’s friend attended yesterday, in the heat, and really liked OLC. Even though Satan will do everything in his power to “distract” people from the Word of God, he doesn’t always win.

Leave a Reply

