Making Decisions…

Posted: November 17, 2007 in Church Leadership

Many of us have been entrusted with making big decisions. You may not feel like, but many of decisions you make can have far reaching impacts on your life and others. They are more important then a change by the Fed on interest rates or a decision by a Hollywood couple get married (or divorced).

I made a decision 5 years ago to go hangout at a strangers house with people I didn’t know very well and met my wife. I made a decision two summers ago to call Michael and ask if he needed any help (because I was bored as a teacher with the summer off) and now I work for him.

Everyone probably has a story like that…how small choices affect you life forever. I sometimes think of those guys that get caught on “To catch a predator.” Anyway, my point is sometimes the little decisions have a greater impact on your life and yet they are made so effortlessly. The big decisions (asking someone to marry you or saying yes), which may seem huge are really already decided. I was blinded by love (we only dated 3 months), so rolled the dice. Now, Carrie and I say what the heck were we thinking when we got engaged? Our church made a move to a performing arts center that cost the church tons of money, but it was already made in reality. If you have more people then seats…you better get more seats.

What I always ponder and would love to know is how can you be sure that you are making the right decision at the time you make it. As “they” say hindsight is 20/20.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

