Misguided Part II

Posted: December 4, 2007 in Theology

One of the things that I think is missing from this story (not that the Bible is incomplete) is Abraham stressing out over his situation. Why isn’t he fasting and praying? Why isn’t he questioning God? Why isn’t he super-emotional? I don’t think I would set my alarm clock early for the next day if I was going to kill my son in the morning. Maybe Abraham is super-human, so he doesn’t wonder if all of this makes sense or if it really a good idea. I don’t know, but I am pretty sure that I wouldn’t have done as well.

Another thing that bothers me or makes me wonder about this story, is why God seems to be a odd giver. He didn’t promise Abraham to be the father of many nations with no strings attached, He promised him with conditions. I realize that it doesn’t say that in the text (before this chapter), but He sure said, because a whole lot. How can you promise someone something and then tell them the conditions after they have accepted it?

I don’t have a problem with my Bible or want this passage thrown out, but I am unsure how you can promise someone with no strings attached, make them do something ridiculously hard, and then say, “well you passed the tet so you get to have the present.”

Maybe I understand promises differently, but I wouldn’t have any problem if God has said at the beginning…”I am going to make you a great nation. However, you first have to pass a series of tests, if you do I will will bless you and make your name great. Got it? Great! Test no. 1…”

Leave a Reply

