Sermon Prep

Posted: December 27, 2007 in Church Leadership

I am teaching this weekend at the Leaf and I have started the final touches on my sermon. For me that means trying to memorize the main points, the basic format, and the overall outline. I usually try to work from complex to simple, which means creating a manuscript (everything I think I am going to say) and then getting it down to a simple outline. Most of the time I chicken out and bring up a pretty thorough outline, because I am afraid I will forget something important.

As I was preparing for this sermon I have been wrestling with the idea of how to communicate more effectively and more importantly what type of communicator I am. This may sound simple, but every time I let my wife read my sermon she says she doesn’t get it. She follows it up with, “you just think differently.” That usually leads to a fight (that I win) and when it is all said and done I have to start working on some of the illustration and transitions.

My philosophy in teaching is to challenge people not only with the content, but also with the presentation. Unfortunately, I hear that people what it simple and straightforward, but still interesting. I like to think deeply and come at something at a different angle. I don’t want people to think what the heck was he talking about when I am done, but I also don’t want them to be able to predict the next point out of my mouth. I guess that’s my weakness and I hope I get it figured out by Sunday. Say a prayer for me if you think about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

