Life sure is grand…

Posted: February 2, 2008 in Random

Tomorrow, I will receive around 100 lbs. of beef from my in-laws. We are getting so much cow, that they are making us get a stand alone freezer before they get here just to hold everything. We will end up with so much meat that literally won’t have to buy anything beef related for the next year…I am not exaggerating. I cannot remember the last time I went to the grocery store and bought steaks, ground beef, or roasts from their last delivery. That was one cow…this time it’s three!!

I am not saying this to make anyone jealous or to hint that I am throwing a Bar-B-Q, but rather to say it’s just one more blessing that the Lord seems to send my way.

I don’t know if anyone else ever has that feeling that you have it so good you wonder how it can keep going. Sometimes, I wonder when I am going to have that phone call, that tragedy, or that discovery that rocks my world. I often think of Job and the day he got the message that all of his kids were killed, because God lifted His “hedge” of protection.

I am not trying to be a pessimist, but I recognize that my life and my circumstances couldn’t be better. I have one of the best jobs in the world, next to being a pro fishermen. I married a hot southern girl, and I have the cutest little boy around. Obviously, I am not raising my hand asking God to teach me how to deal with poverty, an incurable disease, or wishing that I could grow through tragedy. However, I know that life is full of ups and downs and so I constantly want God and others to know how thankful I really am.

Comments
  1. jamie goodwin says:

    That picture of Micah is absolutely precious!! He sure is a cutie and I am so glad I get to teach him about Jesus on Sunday mornings 🙂

  2. Patrick Sievert says:

    I remember back when I used to live in a trailer (down by the river) and we had a deep freeze in the living room…

    Ahh, the good old days.

Leave a Reply

