Shutting it down…

Posted: February 19, 2008 in Church Leadership, Random

I heard a sermon yesterday at the Churchplanters conference that has me seriously considering a drastic step in my personal, spiritual, and leadership development. Stephen Furtick who is the pastor of Elevation Church in Charlotte told the group of pastors, pastor’s wives, and church planters that they needed to stop practicing Mr. Potato head ministry. He said that we all need to stop cutting and pasting parts of other people’s ministry, vision, and ideas and come up with our own. I know I “borrow” a lot of principles, ideas, and techniques form other pastors, because they are good, they work, or they are too good to pass up.

I am dangerously close to doing the following to force myself to find the best way for us to do something, not make some else’s idea work in our context:

  • Taking a 6-month sabbatical from reading blogs
  • Taking a 6-month sabbatical from reading books
  • Taking a 6-month sabbatical from going to conferences
  • Then taking that same amount of time, energy, and brain-power to fuse the Bible, my own creativity/intellect and the Holy Spirit to lead our church in my current capacity.

I am 99.9% sure it is going to happen, because I feel like church planters are sufficating our own creativity because we aren’t coming up with anything new, we are just cutting and pasting.

That’s my plan…I’ll let you know what happens.

Comments
  1. Michael says:

    this is a good idea, except that it was my idea first and you stole it.

  2. agratto says:

    Now you know how it feels. I had the idea to plant Oak Leaf, you stole it. I said we should meet in a movie theater, stolen. I said, we should we should have church in a bar…stolen. My name is Anthony, you named your son Matthew Anthony….coincidence…I think not.

Leave a Reply

