Dirty Dishes

Posted: February 20, 2008 in Theology

I was reading and praying the other night and I was asking God to make me a clean vessel through which He can work.  I imagine that I am not the only one that has prayed that prayer, but I got this immediate mental image that stuck with me while I prayed.

If you are a typical guy that uses a dish and puts it on the counter for the “kitchen fairy,” in my case name Carrie 🙂 to put in the dishwasher, you might not relate to this as well.  I sometimes put them in the sink  to “soak” (she usually buys it) and sometimes they make it all the way into the dishwasher.  Here is my point….

If you have ever gotten a cup, plate, or piece of silverware out of the dishwasher that wasn’t totally cleaned you will understand my illustration.  If the cup has some food still stuck on it, you usually don’t wash it out our pick it off.  More then likely, you usually throw it in the sink or put it back in the dishwasher.  Same thing for a fork or plate, because we don’t want that crap to come off in our mouth or get into our food.

It makes me wonder if God looks at us that way sometimes and says, I can’t use that dude, because he won’t stop doing _______ or he is still struggling with ________ or he just isn’t __________ enough yet?  Many would disagree saying God used a lot of rough people in the Bible, but I just can’t help but think that He means 1 Peter 1:16 for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.”

Comments
  1. Stephen says:

    Good one! Thanks…

Leave a Reply

