March Madness

Posted: March 6, 2008 in Florida Gators

I know its just barely March, but I am already mad 🙂 Actually, I am quite calm, but I don’t have to ponder for very long why they call it madness. Maybe some people believe that it is because of the wild tournament finishes and all of the Cinderella stories. I feel like it has way more to do with how the field of team that make the bid dance are selected.

I realize that am slightly biased and spoiled, being that Gators basketball team won the last two National Championships. I also realize that it’s highly likely that they will be an NIT team rather then an NCAA tournament team….that’s cool they don’t deserve it.

The madness part for me is related to the selection process. I heard Jay Bilas, a so called expert, doing a who’s in and who’s out session before a men’s basketball game. His conclusions where ridiculous. First of all records where only a small part of his determination. Second, RPI was a big factor, which suggests, that like the BCS system, it doesn’t matter whether you win or lose, but whether or not you managed to knock off a highly regarded team. Finally, conference records were only slightly important and just like the BCS system, you can play in a weak conference and still be highly regarded.

Madness is determining that a basketball team should be able to go the whole season ranked No. 1 and then lose in the second round. Madness a team making it after losing 15 times and making over a team that has lost only 5. Madness is any system that relies on computers. I take it back I am mad.

Comments
  1. Daisy says:

    Anthony, I think that maybe we need to pray for you and your “madness.” We know that the RPI and BCS are not fair, but there doesn’t seem to be anything we can do about it. I can understand your being upset with the whole system. Do you think if enough people complained they would do something about the determination? I doubt it. Anyway, still gonna pray for you.

  2. jakedudley30120 says:

    i think the gators WON the last two national championships. not ONE the last two….just informing you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

