30 Mighty Men

Posted: March 16, 2008 in Church Leadership

I had an interesting trip back from Alabama two weeks ago that gave me a good idea and inspiration. While my wife Carrie took her usual nap šŸ™‚ I spent some time praying about some things going on in my life. Then because of the nature of this long trip from Andalusia, Alabama I spent some dedicated time praying for the service and for Michael’s message. I realize that my prayers alone aren’t responsible for the 4 or 5 people who prayed a prayer to accept Christ that weekend, but I feel like I played a part.

My point is this…

As I reflected back on the weekend, I couldn’t help feel the connection between the prayer and the overall feel of the service. I also felt like it inspired me to ask for help from others. Many churches who have people dedicated to praying for Sunday feel that sense of assurance, calm, and spiritual energy when Sunday happens.

So my personal mission is to get 30 guys to commit to pray 10 minutes every Saturday specifically for the service and Michael’s message. You can pray in the shower, while driving (eyes open of course), first thing in the morning, or right before you go to sleep. I just feel Oak Leaf will only make the biggest impact in Bartow County, by covering Sunday in dedicated prayer.

I don’t want this to be a big thing or involve a lot of people…those things always lose momentum, because you can’t personally talk with everyone. Of course, I think women can pray and don’t think there is anything magical about 30, but I still need about 15 guys to join me.

You don’t have to go to Oak Leaf to do this, but you do have to be a fan. Just leave me a comment to let me know.

Leave a Reply

