Living a Bachelor’s Life

Posted: June 20, 2008 in Random

I can remember the days of playing video games, watching TV until I fall asleep on the couch (and then staying there all night).  I recall times when I didn’t shower for a day or two.  I sort of remember what it was like to be able to spend money without thinking about it.  I can remember wearing the same pair of jeans for a month before washing them…oh, wait that’s now.

Anyway, what I remember most about living the life of a single guy was that it was quiet.  You don’t talk a lot, because your house is empty.  When I was home, my roommates were at work and vice versa (I was a student pastor).  You spend a lot of time trying to think of something to do and figuring out who you can call to get out of the house.  What I remember most was wishing that I was married, because I wanted a built in buddy.

Now that I have two, it’s weird not having someone staring back at you across the room when you turn it on UFC instead of How Do I Look.  It’s weird not having someone walk up to you and grab your finger trying to pull you to the door to get you to take them outside.  It’s weird not having your food get cold or having two people eat off the same fork (not Carrie 🙂 ).

I am living the single life for a couple days this weekend and I am trying to take advantage of having total autonomy over my life.  No asking where do you want to eat.  No paper, rocks, sissors over who has to change the diapers, and no begging to be able to go eat sushi.  I might shave my head and I am thinking about sleeping on the couch all weekend…one night down, two to go.

If you think of something I should do or you would do when your family is out of town…send it my way!

Comments
  1. carrie says:

    i have some excellent ideas….
    1. clean out the closet of all the clothes you want to get rid of
    2. paint the front porch rail
    3. clean the kitchen

    🙂 i love you!

Leave a Reply

