Summer Training Wheels

Posted: July 14, 2008 in Random

I just pulled in the driveway after a 4-day vacation to visit my parents, sisters, and cousins in Gainesville, Florida a.k.a. Titlesville U.S.A.  🙂 It was a great vacation and we had a ton of fun hanging out, tubing down a river, and sweating for no reason…other then we were outside.

I also just realized that although it feels good to have an extended weekend, something about it is slightly weird.  It feels very different then most summer vacations that I am used to.  Then it hit me…

This is the first time in my life that I have ever had to work in the summer.  Never before in the 31 years I have been alive have I had a job that meant I couldn’t go and come as I please before this summer.  Between being too young to care or remember, then being in Grade school, college, and seminary, and finally having a job as a teacher I have always had a summer break.

It’s really weird…and kind of depressing, but I guess I’ll have to get used to it.  Oh, well?! 😦

Comments
  1. dominic says:

    Welcome to my world. The land of no summer vacations. I wish I could have been there.

  2. jodymay says:

    Join the let down bud! I spent 11 years as a teacher and now summer has become my busiest time of year. Which means I putting in for my vacation first this year in the fall!

Leave a Reply

