Potty Mouth

Posted: July 24, 2008 in Random

I hesitate to write the following post, because I am afraid that it will give people the impression that I not comfortable around lost people.  Nothing could be further then the truth.  I am actually more weirded out by the people who had the sign on the marquee that said, “Happy Birth Sister Tracy,” then I am the guy who can’t say a sentence without swearing…I know you have met that guy.

My real purpose is to complain about the swearing that is so mainstream in radio and cable.  Plus, to question why Hollywood isn’t crafty enough to build emotion through creative writing rather then to let actors swear incessantly to make drama work.

In my opinion swearing is what happens when people get lazy.  When someone doesn’t want to use their brain to say something with emotion or with force they just swear.  I read a great quote once that said, “Profanity is the effort of a feeble mind to express itself forcefully.”

My problem is that when you sit through a movie cringing every 5 minutes, because someone keeps swearing, it’s only because the person doing it hasn’t developed their vocabulary beyond knowing only 5 letter words.  I am getting a bar of soap…

Comments
  1. Dana says:

    lines in your eyebrows? really… the things you don’t know about people. 🙂

  2. I love this sentiment. As a leader in the church, I’m not perfect, and there are times when you hit your hand with the hammer and the wrong thing comes out – that said, I’m really disturbed by the cavalier use of language, not only in movies and television, but that I see from mature Christians.

    I love your position of it being lazy – that’s exactly what it is . . .

  3. Suzan says:

    I couldn’t agree more. Also, the written word is just as bad. Not only with potty mouth words but also explicit sex scenes. You really don’t need that for a good plot.

    My mother always said, “If you want to show your ignorance, use curse words.”

    If I had a cutie like Micah, I might be lazed back, too.,

  4. Mitch Moyer says:

    I will try to do better.

  5. Matthew Jones says:

    I have to share this story with you:

    My Dad is a pastor, and growing up, we lived in Oconee County, GA. Down Highway 78 from our house (which was the pastorium for the church that we were serving at the time) was a small country store. Inevitably, there would be guys who worked construction crews around the county who would come in, cussing up a storm. Well, one day, Dad came in and one of the crewmen recognized Dad and knew that he was a pastor. He had been cursing, and apologized to Dad when he realized that he was there. Dad’s response was classic…

    He said, “What? You don’t think that God can hear you when I’m not here?”

    Something to chew on! I’m working on my language every day. It’s easy to slip into that mindset because it’s easy, especially when you get in the habit…

Leave a Reply

