Tear Jerker

Posted: July 25, 2008 in Random, Theology

My niece Addy is a little ahead of the curve.  She started walking when she was 9 months, talking in full sentences when she was 10 or 11 months and is about the smartest 2 year old I have ever met.  Given the fact that she is only 2 or so you may be tempted to discount the following story by my sister.  Knowing her personally, I don’t see any reason why the following couldn’t be legit.  Basically this is my sister’s e-mail to the family, but it’s worth sharing to a wider audience.

“Coolest conversation I’ve ever had, coolest story I will ever tell is as follows.

Tonight, I read Addy some bedtime stories and after her devotion, she told me she wanted to see Jesus. I explained that we can’t see Him, but that if He lives in our heart, He will always be with us. I asked her if she wanted Him to live in her heart and she told me she did. So, I told her all she had to do was ask Him and again asked her if she wanted to do. She said she did, so I told her all she’d have to say was, “Dear Jesus, will you come live in my heart?” Again, I asked her if she wanted to say that. She did. I repeated it again and she said it. “Dear Jesus, will you come live in my heart? Amen.”

At this point, I’m freaking out a bit in my head thinking “Does this count? This counts doesn’t it?” She interrupted my thoughts with, “Mommy, I need to go potty.” I called Mom upstairs to tell her the story. She said it absolutely counted. Dominic asked Jesus into his heart when he was three and furthermore, God had assured her that all of her grandchildren would love Jesus.

Addy and I headed back into her bedroom and she sat on my lap and she was patting her hand on her chest saying, “Bump-bump, bump-bump.” (Then, she said my second-most treasured quote of the night. I ran downstairs immediately after I laid her down to record it before I forgot.) “That’s my heart beat. Jesus can hear my heart beat . . . And He’s going to dance with me . . . and sing with me . . . and hop and skip and jump with me! And He said, ‘Addy, you have a beautiful heart and I want to come live in it.”

If that’s not cool I don’t know what is!

Comments
  1. Emily says:

    I love that: “You have a beautiful heart”…. 🙂 That is very, very cool.

  2. beloved89 says:

    That is very very cool . Congrats!

  3. Melissa says:

    Just to set the record straight . . . (This is Melissa, mother of Addy, the child who recently asked Jesus into her heart) . . . . She was walking at 11 months–not nine. And her “full sentences at 10 and 11 months consisted of two to three word sentences like: ‘Up please,’ ‘Down please,’ ‘More lease,’ ‘Bird fly away,’ etc. All the same, I’ll have to agree. She’s one smart cookie. And cute as can be too!

  4. Ily (Grandmother with a promise) says:

    Just a PS to the story. I asked Addy the next morning who was in her heart and she said without hesitation, “Jesus.” I then asked her what He was doing in there. She promptly replied, “Playing the drums.” We all need to let Him beat the drums of our hearts everyday. Thanks for that wisdom, Addy.

Leave a Reply

