Sit there and be quiet…

Posted: October 20, 2008 in Church Leadership, Random

One of the best discipline and parenting techniques that can be used on a child is to make an unruly or disobedient child sit there and think about what they have done (kinda like a time out).  I don’t feel that I have been disobedient, but I really feel like God is saying to our church and it’s leadership that we need to take a time out and figure out what we have done.  We have been through a lot of changes in just 2 short years and it’s time to figure out what it’s all for.

Right now, we are waiting for the City of Cartersville to approve our plans, our General Contractor to get all of the bids together (to get a budget), and are full on Sunday mornings.  In my opinion it’s like God called a timeout.  During my timeout, I have been very introspective.  Mostly, because I am realizing that it’s going to take Divine intervention to get going forward, so I feel like my only option is to get better at what we can do.

One of the things that I think about the most is determining what we need to get better at as a church, staff, and for me personally.  When there is always something huge on the horizon you don’t get to think about stuff as much or in as much detail.

Here are the things that I am pondering:

  1. If it’s clear that people want to take the next step spiritually (research says people’s number one desire is to learn what to do next spiritually), what are we doing to help them?
  2. Are we sure that life change is happening on a regular and consistent basis?
  3. What is success for our church?
  4. What changes do I need to make as a leader for the sake of my church and my family?
  5. What is God telling me as a person and a Pastor?
Leave a Reply

