Birthday Present?

Posted: November 5, 2008 in Random

I don’t know what this says about me or what it says about the average American’s quality of life…but I can’t think of anything I really want for my birthday!!?

The last couple weeks my mom, my wife, and my sisters and brother have asked that question and I have no idea.  In some ways I feel like that’s because I’m too lazy to think of something and in other ways I believe it’s because I don’t need anything.

If you think about your own living room, garage, closet and pantry you can probably relate.  You have everything you need and most of what you want.  I am extremely glad to be in this situation, because I realize how blessed I really am.  Sure, I took a shot and asked for a pair of shoes, a jacket, and a gift card for the Buckle, but if I got none of it I would be fine.

This isn’t a “count your blessings,” kind of post, but we really do have it good in America no matter how bad the economy is or what your home is worth now.

Comments
  1. jonathan sutton says:

    i had the same kind of thoughts the other day. i, perhaps, took it to an extreme…but i was driving and thinking, “dude, we have paved roads, and running clean water, and i have a safe home for my kids to sleep in…” NO reason to complain. God has been so good to us. Stirs me to want to give more to those around us who are truly struggling.

    good post.

Leave a Reply

