2008 New Year’s Resolution (Review)

Posted: December 31, 2008 in Random

New Years Resolutions are fun, but more often then not they are pointless, because nobody follows through or remembers them a couple months into the year.  If you have a blog and make them public…it’s another story.

So, I found my 2008 resolutions to see how I did…

  • I want to have another kid (preferably a boy 🙂 ).
  • Check – We have a boy named Jude due January 18th
  • I would like to read 12 books. No particular books, but I want to average 1 per month for the year.
  • Check – I read 21 Indisputable Qualities of a Leader, Axiom, Strategic Stuff, 10 Lies About God, Thinking for a Change, It’s OK to Be the Boss, Pop Goes the Church, Death By Meeting, Follow Me, Courageous Leadership, First Break All of the Rules, Myths About God, The Essential Church, to name a few.
  • I would like the Florida Gators football team to win an SEC Championship.
  • Check – I even went to the game. dsc004435
  • I would like to take a family vacation to the west coast.
  • Check – I took Carrie to Las Vegas for 5 days and 4 nights…great trip.
  • I would like to see Oak Leaf get at least 1000 people on average in attendance on Sundays.
  • We ran out of seats this fall, but got close a few times (March) and even had 1350 on Easter.  Maybe 2009?
  • I would like to lose 10 pounds. I don’t care about a six pack, but a 4 pack would be cool.
  • I lost 4 or 5 lbs. a few times, but I’m still stuck in the same belt loop.
  • I would like to get my fishing boat fixed and go fishing a bunch this spring.
  • Check – Got it fixed and had a lot of fun catching fish with a few buddies from Oak Leaf.

I am excited about 2009 and I’ll write about my goals shortly.  How did you do?  Can you even remember them?!

Leave a Reply

