Get it under control…

Posted: February 5, 2009 in Church Leadership, College Football, Florida Gators

It’s rather apparent from reading the Bible that there are a few body parts that the Lord has given us which are rather difficult to understand and control.  Many times they actually control us and get us to do things that are probably bad ideas and extremely difficult to undo.

I have three “parts” in my head, but for the sake of my potential audience and keeping this a “PG” rated blog I’ll just chat about two:

1. The Heart: Jeremiah says the heart is impossible to know.  We all know of 2 or 3 people we thought we were in love with or things we just had to have…and how it turned out.  Our hearts mislead us and send us after strange things, and have us going in direction that we probably shouldn’t even think about going.

2. The Tongue: James does a bangup job of telling his readers that the tongue may be small, but it can royally screw stuff up.  I can think of lots of times when I said something and immediately began writing my apology.

In the spirit of hating on the Volunteers…I was going to point out that fact to their new Head Football Coach, who hasn’t even coached in a game, has already stuck his foot in his mouth on two occations (he was actually fired for being critical of the team and players he coach in the NFL).

First, he told some Vol supporters they were going to sing Rocky Top all night long next year when the beat the Gators in the Swamp.  Then, yesterday he accused Urban Meyer of cheating, when he actually did nothing wrong.  I’m not sure if he understands how things work in the locker room, but coaches scouer the Internet, Chat rooms, record sports talk shows, just to find motivation.  I say keep them coming buddy…

Comments
  1. Corey says:

    I was singing “Forward Rebels” and “Dixie” this year after my team played in the Swamp. 🙂

  2. Adam McEntyre says:

    that is why the Vols depress me. Maybe we will do ok this year, but I doubt it.

Leave a Reply

