Easter “Decisions”

Posted: April 11, 2009 in Random

I am picking a fight, but I’m not sure that I have the solution.

Why is is that so many churches have so many “salvations” on Easter, but that they rarely retain any reasonable percentage of those people.  How come we actually count them when we don’t usually baptize them?

In my limited understanding its tantamount to me going to the mall and taking all of the free samples and not buying a meal.  Then the restaurant owner actually counting me as a customer.  “Really? I ate your food, but you didn’t make a dime and I only ate it because it was free.”

I’m a little disillusioned about the spiritual landmarks that we claim people make during our Easter services, but fully expect that most blogs and Pastors will brag and blog about them in about 36 hours.

What’s my point?  Maybe we should…

  • Only count those numbers if we actually baptize them in the next two months?
  • Why don’t we only tell people our Easter attendance if we can actually get to that point by the end of the year?
  • Not claim spiritual advancement if we did little more then give away salvation samples.  Wait until they take a next step to know that their “conversion” was real.

I know I sound a little disillusioned and cynical, but it’s the part of me that works myself into a frenzy for a great Easter, only to experience people coming by for free samples that’s really talking.

Comments
  1. James says:

    I understand what you are saying. Take today for example, I loved it! I thought is was awesome. The band blew it out of the water. Michael was way on top of his game. The volunteers were on top of it and did an amazing job. We had so many more people today and some of those people said they gave their life to Christ. How cool is that?!?
    From what I hear, we see it at Fuel, too. They do an awesome job every week and several kids get saved and we Twitter about it.
    Hopefully, those kids and the people today meant it. Hopefully, those people really see that they need Jesus and they really have a desire to following Him. But as the weeks go by and we see that some of those people aren’t coming to church anymore and it seems that they just got caught up in the moment, at least they were exposed to the gospel. They were at least exposed to what it means to be a Christ follower. And maybe now wasn’t the time for them, but it could be coming soon.
    Also, hopefully, there are some that continue coming to church. They continue to grow and learn and see what Christ did for them. For those people, even if it’s just one, it was all worth it.
    I don’t know if there really is a good time to brag about our numbers or if we really should. Those of us that have been around it long enough know that with our church, just as with any church, the big Event numbers are great, but it doesn’t last. But we also know that more than likely, there was at least one person who accepted Christ and won’t perish. And that’s worth celebrating.

Leave a Reply

