Communication/Confession

Posted: April 24, 2009 in Church Leadership, Random

One of the biggest obstacles for any relationship, business/organization, team, family or relationship is good communication.  I’m not pretending to be an expert or pretending I have a hard and fast list of great tools or tips here…just thinking out loud.

One thing that I have noticed is that your best chance (and I really do mean chance because it’s not sure) way of getting something done is by giving a clear assignment/request with a timetable, to the right person, while attempting to communicate why it’s worthwhile.

If you have the authority then you can flex your muscles and your chances go up for people doing what you ask, regardless of it being their job to do it anyway.  From what I read and see, from time to time, it helps to have someone like (I mean be fond of or admire) the person giving them direction or tasks.

At the end of the day, I wonder what the best choice should be toward getting something done well and done when it’s needed.  There are successful companies run by managers, like Jack Welch, who were not admired (by co-workers), but who revolutionized a company and made it extremely profitable.  There are also companies that were run by someone who gave praise regularly (like being a “players coach”), like Herbert D. Kelleher, that also had tremendous success. I find myself wanting to be the jovial, charismatic leader and high five while telling jokes, but its just not me…and I think I know why.

I’m fanatical about being responsible.  It means I’m mean about the vision, assignment, and any task I’ve been given.  It’s why I spell check everything, put letterhead on everything, proof my text messages and tweets, and have great pride in something I’ve done.  I don’t do it just to get it done, I do it and then check it over and over to make sure it can’t be improved.  If I can’t do it well I might prefer to quit rather then get a “B.”

Not sure what that makes me, but it explains me.

Comments

Leave a Reply

