Soak it up…

Posted: July 5, 2009 in Church Leadership, Random

Lately, I have been hot on the trail of some great senior/lead pastors.  My plan is to soak up their experiences and wisdom to get a clearer picture of their role in the Church.  I’ve had the opportunity to meet with Tim Grandstaff, Tony Mccollum, Shawn Lovejoy, and I’m meeting with J.R. Lee and Matt Evans this week.

As I’ve digested and internalized these conversations, I’ve realized that every guy that stands up to preach has a wildly different story, which is what I learn from the most anyway.  I also know that my education would be incomplete if I quit now, so I’m posting my wish list of those guys I would most like to download in the very near future (and why).

Matt Chandler (The Village Church) – He can use the Bible to crush you more gently with your sin then anyone else I’ve heard.  You will still like him at the end of the day too.

Chris Brown (Seacoast Church) – Great storyteller (not the Lead Pastor) and just fun to listen to.  I would love to download his story telling ability and learn how he prepares.

Steven Furtick (Elevation Church) – When he talks its like listening to someone open up a thesaurus.  What he does and how he carries himself feels extremely genuine…I’d love to understand the philosophy of his approach.

Mark Driscoll (Mars Hill Church) – He just seems like a super smart dude that would challenge everything I think.  Plus, he would be a fun guy to interrogate.

Bob Roberts (Northwood Church) -Probably the most well connected Pastor that I’ve seen or know.  I would love to understand more deeply his approach to ministry and taking the Gospel to the Nations.

Jonathan Falwell (Thomas Road Baptist Church) – In a day and age when denominations are struggling and Baptists influence seem to be fading, his church is thriving.  I’d love to understand how he leads in these uncertain times.

Jeff Kapusta (Lifepoint Church) – How could you not have fun with a surfing pastor?  I think it would be fun to digest his approach to ministry to keep interesting.

Comments
  1. Josh says:

    Hey man, thanks for the list! This’ll bring blessings to me and Steph for a while. Praying for clear guidance and great things through our ministry. Love you guys.

Leave a Reply

