Khakis to Camo…

Posted: February 8, 2010 in Church Leadership

I used to think of myself as a Starbucks, Chick-Fil-A, or Panera kind of guy.  If I were going to stop somewhere for breakfast in the morning it would be at one of those places.  I would always prefer an Asiago Cheese bagel or a chicken biscuit, but between lousy finances and the lack of any of these stores on my work route things have changed.

Now when I spurge I go for a Mt. Dew or sometimes grab a donut.  The thing that I’ve been beginning to notice is that the clientele is a little different at the local Kagaroo or Chevron Gas Stations.  I see a lot less suits and a whole lot more blue jeans.  It’s far less ties and way more camo. Most of the purchase I saw this morning involved a pack of cigarettes and a lottery ticket.

I don’t know what to make of my newfound patron peers, but I do know that they seem bleary-eyed, lost (not just in the spiritual sense), and without hope.  I know people that are so far upside down on their homes they would need an $80K swing to every buy something else, but they have twice the hope of these guys.

We don’t stop to think about it enough, but much of the reason that you are reading this blog, had a $4 cup of coffee and a Danish this week is because you had good parents, got a good education, and had decent connections.  We started light years ahead of every one of the Newport smoking crew at my new pit stop.

To be cont.

Comments
  1. I’m a church planter too and our church is called Axiom as well! God bless as you serve Him!

Leave a Reply

